How to Market Multiple Businesses at Once on Social Media: linktree

Instagram is not one of my favorite platforms. Maybe that’s me admitting that I’m getting older but it’s all pictures and videos. People don’t really want to connect. They just follow to unfollow in hopes that you’ll follow them back. So superficial! Most people just scroll through and double tap the picture to like it without even reading the content. I’m more of a content person. I enjoy writing and also reading what others have written. I know you’ve seen the “Great Post” reply in several comment sections — clearly not reading what the author took the time to write; however, Instagram is still one of the main social media platforms out.

LinkTree
My Personal linktree

Every blue moon, I’ll find myself heading over to Instagram to get my makeup fix 🙂 If you’re new to Instagram, you may not have noticed this but once you click on the person’s profile, there is a section to enter a business link. Most people will use it to add their YouTube channel, blog, e-commerce site, etc. It’s a genius too! You can showcase your pictures, knowledge or service and never have to repeat adding your link to each post. If a person is interested, they can click on the link and it takes them directly to your website.

The problem many professionals run into is that it only allows for one link. Ugh! What if you have two — blog and YouTube or someone like me who has at least 5? You have to give preference to one or try to be clever and include a link in your bio as well. Hey! Desperate times call for desperate measures!

Lately, I noticed quite a few profiles all had an extension of “https://linktr.ee.” I finally decided to click one and saw that it had a list of all of their websites!

OMG! Are you kidding me? I knew that there were other services out but I was surprised to find out that it was FREE. Yep, it’s free for the most common type of user. If you want to remove their logo and get more templates, it’s $6 per month.

What is it called?

linktree

Is it easy to use?

Yep! That’s actually why I’m suggesting it!

Am I late to the party?

Yep! Apparently, it’s been out for about a year now. Better late than never!

How long did it take to set up?

Literally about 5 minutes.

What do you need?

You can sign up on your computer or anywhere you have access to the internet. No app download required.

Do I need to have an Instagram account?

Yes.

Can I use it outside of Instagram?

Yep. Once you join, you have your custom URL located on the righthand side of the screen. You can share that URL anywhere including Facebook.

What is your personal recommendation?

I personally love Facebook (just to throw it out there). For any social media site, I suggest removing ALL links on your profile and having just this one. In my opinion, it looks cleaner and more professional. Sometimes, friends or newcomers see so many links on your profile and get discouraged, don’t know which one is relevant to them or that you are partaking in too many ventures.

With linktree, it gives you the opportunity to describe each of the links.

Most people won’t come to you. They like to do their own independent research. Don’t let clutter on your profile deter them!

If you are not using a service, I suggest you try linktree. If you already have a service in use, I suggest that you make sure to include all of your links on the service and only post that one link!

Does it really work?

I’d say so. I just signed up late Saturday evening, February 3, 2018, and according to my blog, linktree comes in second place for referrers — search engines are #1 and Facebook followed immediately afterwards.

I believe a lot of it has to do with curiosity. With such a vague link, people are intrigued and want to find out more.

How to optimize it?

Make sure that you have a squeeze page or lead capture page included. This allows you to gain visitor’s email/phone/social media so you have a way to follow up with them. Many people will just click and leave but if you have an offer they can’t refuse, you’ll begin to build your e-mail list and turn those visitors into customers (or whatever you goal is at the time).

Hope that helps!

Published by chicagosnatalie

Natalie is a Certified Health and Nutrition Coach and Weight Loss Expert for women who are ready to ditch the diet and lose weight without giving up the foods they enjoy! Follow along for more nutrition, mindset and lifestyle tips that will help you lose weight without being miserable.

Leave a Reply

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started